ENEN DEDE
home
Station available

OVMS Mail

Sorry when I wrote this once or twice before, but I just don't like to be digitally tracked by any "man in the middle" system. This was one of my main motivations for my interest in OVMS. With OVMS I can connect my car with my server and control all with my app. And everything is open source.

Now is the recent OVMS App mainly maintained by the extraordinary good work of "Dexter". Dexter made a "gcm" (Google Cloud Messaging) branch of the master code on Github  (github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Android/tree/gcm). At the moment we don't see any development on the master branch. All the new features of the app, i.e. the nice Nissan Leaf images, are only found at the gcm branch. So if you want to use the latest OVMS app, you probably will use Dexters app, based on the gcm branch.

For me this means two problems.

  1. I can't run the app on my mobile phone, because I use "Cyanogenmod" without "Google Services" on my phone. Google services essentially make a permanent connection from your mobile phone to Google. Within this connection any data can be transferred between google and your phone. This data is mostly personalized by an unique id. A lot of programmers use Google services to quickly develop apps using Google maps. This makes programming easy, but also means that Google always is informed by the app about my location in combination with my unique id.

    If you use Cyanogenmod without Google Services on your phone you then won't be able to use these features of such an app. That is the reason why for me the GPS part of the OVMS app does not work. No problem as I don't use the OVMS GPS feature. I'm more interested in other OVMS features like remote climate control or the state of charge level of the battery.

    But, as I said, the standard OVMS app out of the gcm branch won't even start if you don't have Google services installed on your phone. This is because of two lines of code within the MainActivity.java:

     // check for Google Play Services App:
    if (!checkPlayServices())
    finish();
    
    So to make the app work for me at all I need to comment out these lines and compile the app. My compiled version can be downloaded here.

    Before you can install the apk on a Cyanogenmod without Google services you will also need a workaround on the Google maps framework. This is described here: sdgsystems.com/blog/installing-google-maps-framework-aosp-android
     
  2. OVMS can sent me notifications. For example "Charging interrupted" or "Alarm on". A very nice feature. Dexter alterd the master code for his gcm branch to use "Google Cloud Messaging" (gcm) as a message push service for these messages. This has the advantage, that messages are tranferred in real time. But for me it has the disadvantage, that Google services are needed and Google is "man in the middle" and tracks my communication thru the app.

    I prefer messaging by mail. This is not real time (it takes up to 10 minutes to receive a message), but it has the advantage that it runs completely over my own servers. But this also means that the use of an own OVMS server is essential to make this work. If you operate one, you can switch from Google cloud messaging to mail notification.

    Lets take a look on how to do that ...

    In the "ovms_server.pl" (this is the OVMS Server) we find this code:

    # send mail notifications:
    if ($row->{'pushtype'} eq 'mail' && $mail_enabled eq 1)
    This means that mail can be sent by the server when the field "pushtype" in the databaser is filled with "mail" and the server configuration file says "mail_enabled=1".

    The field "pushtype" can be found within the MySQL database in the table "ovms_notifies". As soon as a new vehicle is announced to server this field is automaticly filled with "gcm". This is because in the gcm branch within the MainActivity.java we find this code:

    // subscribe at OVMS server:
    // MP-0
    // p<appid>,<pushtype>,<pushkeytype>{,<vehicleid>,<netpass>,<pushkeyvalue>}
    String cmd = String.format("MP-0 p%s,gcm,production,%s,%s,%s",
    		uuid, carData.sel_vehicleid, carData.sel_server_password,
    		gcmToken);
    "gcm" is hard coded within "String.format". Therefor we can only change the field "pushtype" from "gcm" to "mail" directly within the MySQL database. But when we do so it is permanent, as the code above only is processed at the first occourance of a new car for the database.

    This is the first step. Edit the value of the field "pushtype" in the table "ovms_notifies" of the MySQL database from "gcm" to "mail". And for the system to know where to sent the mails to we also need to enter the receipient email address in the field "pushkeyvalue" of the "ovms_notifies" table.

    At Github you can find a script that can do this for you: github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System/blob/master/client/README#L87

    Now we only need to activate the mail function of the OVMS server in its config file "ovms_server.conf":


    [mail]
    enabled=1
    interval=10
    
    sender=ovms@mydomain.com
    Restart the  OVMS server service and, tada, we get notification mails :-)

    An example of such a mail is this:

    "Vehicle is stopped turned on"

    You will receive this message, when you leave the vehicle running (on "P" of course) while moving away from the vehicle with the key in your pocket. Nice for testing ...
     

Perhaps we will have some time in the future the possibility to check within the app wether we want to use Google cloud messaging oder would rather like to use mail messaging. Perhaps we will be able to use the app completely without Google services too ...

Till then we can use this workaround.

ENEN DEDE
home
Station ladebereit

OVMS Mail

Auf die Gefahr hin, dass ich mich wiederhole, ich mag es nicht, dass ein "man in the middle" meine (digitalen) Aktivitäten trackt. Das ist für mich eine Hauptmotivation gewesen, um mich mit OVMS zu beschäftigen. Mit OVMS kann ich mein Auto mit meinem Server mit meiner App verbinden und alles ist open source.

Nun wird die aktuelle OVMS App hauptsächlich gepflegt durch die hervorragende Arbeit von "Dexter". Dexter hat auf Github einen "gcm" (Google Cloud Messaging) Branch erstellt vom Master-Code der Android OVMS App (github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Android/tree/gcm). Momentan finden keine Entwicklungen im Master statt. Alle neuen Feautures der App, wie zum Beispiel auch die schicken Nissan Leaf Abbildungen, befinden sich im gcm-Branch. Wer also die neueste Android App für OVMS haben möchte nutzt Dexters App basierend auf dem gcm-Branch.

Daraus resultieren für mich zwei Probleme.

  1. Ich kann die App nicht starten, da ich auf meinem Handy "Cyanogenmod" benutze ohne "Google Dienste". Google Dienste funktionieren im wesentlichen so, dass es eine dauerhafte Verbindung von meinem Handy zu Google hergestellt wird und durch diese Verbindung beliebige Daten, verbunden mit einer eindeutigen ID von mir, hin und her zu Google übertragen werden. Viele Programmierer nutzen zum Beispiel die Abkürzung über Google Dienste, wenn sie in ihrer App auf Google Maps zugreifen wollen. Das hält den Programmieraufwand gering, sorgt aber dafür, dass Google aus der App heraus immer meinen Standort verbunden mit einer ID zu meiner Person erhält.

    Wenn man auf sein Cyanogenmod Handy Google Dienste nicht installiert hat funktionieren diese Abkürzungen in einer App nicht mehr. Das ist der Grund dafür, dass bei mir in der OVMS App die GPS Kartendarstellung nicht funktioniert. Macht nichts, ich nutze die GPS Funktion eh nicht, bin viel mehr an den anderen OVMS Funktionen interessiert, wie z.B. die Fernsteuerung der Klimaanlage im Auto, oder die Anzeige des Füllstands der Batterie.

    Aber, wie gesagt, die Standard OVMS App aus dem gcm-Branch startet erst gar nicht, wenn Google Dienste auf dem Handy nicht vorhanden sind. Das liegt daran, dass in der MainActivity.java folgende Zeilen enthalten sind:

     // check for Google Play Services App:
    if (!checkPlayServices())
    finish();
    
    Damit die App also für mich überhaupt starten kann, kommentierte ich diese Zeilen aus und kompiliere die App selber durch. Meine kompilierte Version der App kann man hier downloaden.

    Bevor man meine APK in ein Cyanogenmod ohne Google Dienste installieren kann, muss man noch einen Workaround für das Google Maps Framework durchführen. Das ist hier beschrieben: sdgsystems.com/blog/installing-google-maps-framework-aosp-android
     
  2. OVMS kann mir "Notifications" schicken. Zum Beispiel "Der Ladervorgang wurde unterbrochen", oder "Die Alarmanlage wurde aktiviert". Ein sehr schönes Feature. Dexter hat in seinem gcm-Branch den Master-Code so angepasst, dass diese Notifications über "Google Cloud Messaging" (gcm) gepusht werden. Das hat den Vorteil, dass die Notifications in Echtzeit übermittelt werden, für mich aber den Nachteil, dass Google Dienste benötigt werden und Google "man the middle" ist und tracken kann.

    Ich bevorzuge da lieber eine Benachrichtigung per Mail. Das ist nicht real time (dauert bis zu 10 Minuten, bis eine Nachricht ankommt), hat aber den Vorteil, dass es über meine Server läuft. Das ist allerdings auch Grundvoraussetzung, dass Mail-Notifications funktionieren. Man braucht einen eigenen OVMS Server. Hat man den, kann man man das Google Cloud Messaging austauschen gegen Mail Benachrichtigung.

    Schauen wir uns an, wie ...

    In der "ovms_server.pl" (der eigentliche OVMS Server) steht folgender Code:

    # send mail notifications:
    if ($row->{'pushtype'} eq 'mail' && $mail_enabled eq 1)
    Das bedeutet, dass Mails vom Server verschickt werden, wenn das Feld "pushtype" in der Datenbank mit "mail" gefüllt ist und die Konfigurationseinstellung "mail_enabled" auf 1 gesetzt ist.

    Das Feld "pushtype" findet man in der MySQL Datenbank in der Tabelle "ovms_notifies". Wenn ein neues Fahrzeug sich beim Server meldet wird dieses Feld automatisch mit "gcm" befüllt. Das liegt daran, weil im Code im gcm-Branch in der MainActivity.java folgendes passiert:

    // subscribe at OVMS server:
    // MP-0
    // p<appid>,<pushtype>,<pushkeytype>{,<vehicleid>,<netpass>,<pushkeyvalue>}
    String cmd = String.format("MP-0 p%s,gcm,production,%s,%s,%s",
    		uuid, carData.sel_vehicleid, carData.sel_server_password,
    		gcmToken);
    "gcm" wird im "String.format" fest hineingeschrieben. Deshalb kann ich nun nur noch in der MySQL Datenbank direkt den "pushtype" von "gcm" auf "mail" ändern. Wenn ich das tue ist es aber dauerhaft, da der obengenannte Code nur beim Anlegen eines Fahrzeugs ausgeführt wird.

    Das war also der erste Streich. In der MySQL Datenbank bei meinem Fahrzeug in der "ovms_notifies" Tabelle den Wert von "pushtype" von "gcm" auf "mail" ändern. Und damit das System weiß, wohin die Mails geschickt werden, muss in der Tabelle "ovms_notifies" der "pushkeyvalue" noch mit der Empfänger-Emailadresse befüllt werden.

    Es existiert im Github auch ein Script, was diese Arbeit erledigt: github.com/openvehicles/Open-Vehicle-Monitoring-System/blob/master/client/README#L87

    Jetzt brauchen wir nur noch die Mailfunktion für den OVMS Server in seiner Konfigurationsdatei aktivieren. Das geschieht in der ovms_server.conf:

    [mail]
    enabled=1
    interval=10
    
    sender=ovms@mydomain.com
    Jetzt brauchen wir noch den OVMS Server Dienst neu starten und schon bekommen wir Notification-Mails.

    Ein Beispiel einer solchen Mail ist das hier:

    "Vehicle is stopped turned on"

    Diese Nachricht kommt, wenn man das Fahrzeug laufen läßt (auf "P" versteht sich) und sich dann mit dem Schlüssel in der Tasche vom Fahrzeug entfernt. Gut zum testen ...

 

Vielleicht findet sich ja in Zukunft die Möglichkeit in der App auszuwählen, ob man Google Cloud Messaging oder lieber Mail benutzen möchte. Vielleicht wird man die App in Zukunft default auch ohne Google Services nutzen können.

Bis dahin bleibt dieser Workaround.